M. Verónica Ganduglia-Pirovano (ICP-CSIC)
Rubén Pérez (UAM)
José Luis de Segovia† (ASEVA)
Geoff Thornton (UCL)
Falko Netzer (Uni Graz)
Adrián Velázquez Campoy (ZCAM)

DATE OF EVENT : 05/07/2021       DURATION : 5 day(s)

LOCATION: ZCAM Campus Actur C/ Mariano Esquillor s/n Edificio I+D 50018 Zaragoza


Metal-oxide nanostructures, including both oxide nanostructures on metal surfaces and metal nanoparticles supported on oxides are among the most promising materials for the transition to a sustainable, green economy, with applications ranging from catalysis and solar energy harvesting to bio-implants. Finite size, proximity and charging effects confer metal-oxide nanostructures and interfaces with novel properties and functionalities that are absent in the individual components. Key aspects include new structural motifs, electronic behavior, magnetic effects, optoelectronic properties and catalytic activity.

This workshop will gather leading experts to discuss the state-of-the art in the preparation, characterization and theoretical description of metal-oxide ultrathin films and nanostructures, and to identify the current challenges and future directions in the field. The topics will cover from model systems, key to understand the fundamental properties of these hybrid interfaces, to current and prospective applications in nanotechnology. In order to foster an inclusive environment and personal connections between participants, the attendance will be limited to a maximum of 70 participants.

This workshop that takes over from the IUVSTA-ASEVA Workshops devoted to Oxides Systems in Physics and Chemistry, from which the last one was held in Ávila, Spain, in July 2018, welcomes the participation of graduate students and young researchers.


Ulrike Diebold (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Zdenek Dohnalek (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
Juan de la Figuera (Instituto de Química-Física Rocasolano-CSIC, Spain)
Hicham Idriss (SABIC-KAUST, Saudi Arabia & UCL, UK)
Konstantin Neyman (Universitat de Barcelona & ICREA, Spain)
Herbert Over  (Justus-Liebig-Universität Giessen, Germany)
Gianfranco Pacchioni (Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy)
Joachim Paier (Humboldt Universität Berlin, Germany)
Michael Reichling (Universität Osnabrück, Germany)
Christof Wöll (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)


Alexander Shluger, UCL, UK
Ana María Llois
, CNEA-CONICET, Bs. As., Arg.
Andrea Picone, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Andreas Stierle, DESY, Hamburg, Germany
Arturo Martínez Arias, ICP-CSIC, Madrid, Spain
Carlos Sánchez Sánchez, ICMM-CSIC, Madrid, Spain
Cesare Franchini
, U. Wien, Austria
Christian Hess, U. Darmstadt,  Germany
Claudine Noguera, INSP – Sorbonne U, France
Clemens Barth, U. Marseille, France
Enrique Ortega, UPV-EHU, San Sebastian, Spain
Francesc Illas, U. Barcelona, Spain
Greg A. Kimmel, PNNL, Richland, WA, USA
Hans-Joachim Freund  FHI-Berlin, Germany
Henrik Grönbeck, Chalmers, Göteborg, Sweden
Hiroshi Onishi, Kobe University, Japan
Jacek Goniakowski, INSP – Sorbonne U, France
Jacques Jupille, INSP – Sorbonne U, France
Jan Ingo Flege, U. Cottbus, Germany
Jaroslava Nováková, Charles U., Prague, Czechia
Javier Fernández Sanz, U. Seville, Spain
Javier Giorgi, U. Ottawa, Canada
Jens Falta, U. Bremen, Germany
Jörg Libuda, U. Erlangen, Germany

José Carlos Conesa, ICP-CSIC, Madrid, Spain
Junfa Zhu, USTC, Hefei, Anhui, China
Luca Vattuone, U. Genova, Italy
Lutz Hammer, U. Erlangen, Germany
Marek Sierka, U. Jena, Germany
Martin Castell, U. Oxford, UK
Martin Sterrer, U. Graz, Austria
Matthias Meier, U. Wien, Austria
Melissa A. Hines, Cornell U., Ithaca, NY, USA
Michael Schmid, TU Wien, Austria
Michael White, SUNY Stony Brook-BNL, NY. USA
Miguel Manso, UAM, Madrid. Spain
Mike Bowker, Cardiff U., UK
Niklas Nilius, U. Oldenburg, Germany
Oscar Custance, NIMS, Tsukuba, Japan
Pablo Lustemberg, ICP-CSIC, Madrid, Spain
Rob Lindsay, U. Manchester, UK
Svetlozar Surnev, U. Graz, Austria
Thomas Risse, FU-Berlin, Germany
Ulrich Heiz, TUM, Garching, Germany
Vladimir Matolín, Charles U., Prague, Czechia
Yi Gao, Zhangjiang Lab., Shanghai, China
Yingge Du, PNNL, Richland, WA, USA
Zbynek Novotny, U. Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland
Zhong-Kang Zan, Skoltech, Moscow, Russia


Poster A0 size is 84.1 x 118.9 cm – ONLY portrait orientation.


The Best Poster Awards recognizes outstanding work by Young Researchers.

Student Poster Awards will be offered, and the ranking will be decided by the Poster Prize Committee. The Poster Prize Committee will evaluate the quality of the posters using the following criteria:

  1. Scientific Quality
  2. Originality
  3. Clarity
  4. Self-explanatory
  5. Poster Design

List of participants

Full Name Category Country
Full Name Category Country
Alvaro Posada-Borbon Poster Sweden
Jens Falta Invited attendee Germany
Herbert Over Invited speaker Germany
Geoff Thornton Organizer UK
Prof. Dr. Christof Wöll (Woell) Invited speaker Germany
Henrik Grönbeck Invited attendee Sweden
Maria Veronica Ganduglia-Pirovano Organizer Spain
Joerg Libuda Invited attendee Germany
Marc Ziemba Poster Germany
Marek Sierka Invited attendee Germany
Adrian Velazquez Organizer Spain
José Carlos Conesa Cegarra Invited attendee Spain
Clemens Barth Invited attendee France

Abstract submission,  registration, and payment should be done before April 30th, 2020


Please use the registration form to submit your abstract and indicate whether you are submitting for an oral (Invited Speaker or Invited Attendee) or poster presentation filling the proper category field.


Arrangements have been made for accommodation at three superb Hotels (Palafox, Alfonso and Goya) for 66  €/night. (single room and breakfast and taxes included).  These rooms can only be reserved through the Conference Secretary. Please fill in the  registration form the arrival and departure dates. For further information please contact Beatriz Antoli, bantoli@unizar.es, indicating   room preference (single, double). 

You will be informed later on to which Hotel you have been assigned.


Hotel reservation  through the Conference Secretary  should be done before May 15th, 2020


The registration fee is  200 € and it includes:

  • Admission to all scientific sessions
  • Access to the exhibition area
  • Program & Book of Abstracts through the website during the conference
  • Coffee breaks during the congress period
  • Lunches and Conference dinner
  • Walking tour

Payment should be done by wire transfer to the following Bank Account of the University of Zaragoza. We cannot accept credit card payments.   

ACCOUNT HOLDER Universidad de Zaragoza

IBAN: ES74 2085 0111 7703 3132 1997

SWIFT/BIC Code:  (must be used for international wires outside Europe)

In the concept of the Transfer you should include your name(s), and surname.

Those who need an Invoice for their payment or HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH INTERNATIONAL WIRE TRANSFERS, should send an email to Beatriz Antoli (bantoli@unizar.es).


If your are bringing an accompanying person please indicate it in the registration form. If you are asking for a hotel room a double room will be provided. If you want him/her to attend the conference dinner, please send an email to Beatriz Antoli (bantoli@unizar.es).


    Accompanying person
    Needs accommodation

    Will be available before the conference.